Turning a tragedy into an opportunity to make a difference

Alison at the 2010 Komen Miami/Ft. Lauderdale Race for the Cure

Back in 1985, I lost my mom to breast cancer. I was only 17 yrs old and she was 44. Then at the age of 32, I was also diagnosed with breast cancer. I am now a proud survivor of 11 years. For the past 15 years, I have participated in the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure not realizing that I would one day walk as a Survivor. Last year, I decided to do more and joined the committee for the Komen Miami/Ft. Lauderdale Race for the Cure. In addition to helping out with the race, I also helped answer phone calls in the office, assisted with a phone bank on CBS4 and organized survivor events.  I was astonished as to how many people reached out to Komen looking for support including free mammograms, education and counseling.  It was extremely fulfilling to help so many and realize how important Komen is in our community.  In addition to helping others, I also benefited from this experience by establishing everlasting relationships with other amazing survivors. Although I can’t bring my mom back, I can keep her memory alive by continuing to assist others through the Komen network.

Thank you, Komen, for allowing me to turn a tragedy into an opportunity to make a difference in people’s lives.  I am confident that with Komen’s efforts along with everyone’s continued support, we WILL find a cure to breast cancer.

– Alison Pages

Leave a Reply

